YMCA National Swimming and Diving YMCA National Swimming and Diving HEALTHY COMPETITION

National YMCA Competitive Swimming And Diving

Information For The YMCA Competitive Swim Community

Quick Links:  Home     Discussion Forum      Officials      Trainers     

  Active TopicsActive Topics  Display List of Forum MembersMemberlist  CalendarCalendar  Search The ForumSearch  HelpHelp
  RegisterRegister  LoginLogin
Rules and Officials
 YMCA of the USA Competitive Swimming and Diving Fo :YMCA of the USA Competitive Swimming - General :Rules and Officials
Message Icon Topic: False Start Post Reply Post New Topic
Author Message
New Member
New Member

Joined: Dec/03/2012
Location: United States
Posts: 2
Quote CBice Replybullet Topic: False Start
    Posted: Dec/03/2012 at 9:07pm
I am a fairly newly certified official and a question was asked at our meet last weekend.  I didn't know the answer at the moment, and still don't, even after consulting the rulebook.  I am hoping I can get some clarification here. 

If a swimmer in a relay event, other than the lead off swimmer or anchor leg swimmer (i.e. 2nd or 3rd leg), leaves the block prior to the previous swimmer touching the wall/pad, should the infraction be identified by the official raising their hand at that moment, or are they to wait until after the last swimmer has left the block for the anchor leg of the relay?

I look forward to your responses.
Chris A. Bice
IP IP Logged
Ed Miller
Moderator Group
Moderator Group

Moderator - Officials

Joined: Apr/29/2006
Location: United States
Posts: 168
Quote Ed Miller Replybullet Posted: Dec/15/2012 at 12:20pm
First of all, a false start only occurs if the lead swimmer starts before the starting signal is given.  In a relay, if the second, third or fourth swimmer leaves the starting blocks before the incoming swimmer has touched the end of the racing course, that is a relay take-off infraction. 
With respect to relay take-off infractions, when dual confirmation is being used, which is the preferred method, then no hand signal is given by either relay take-off judge, as there isn't an infraction unless they both agree.  See Rule 102.13.6.B.
If dual confirmation is not being used, then the relay take-off judge observing a relay take-off infraction must immediately raise his/her hand.  See USA-S Rule 102.22.1.
Ed Miller
YMCA National Officials Committee   
IP IP Logged
Post Reply Post New Topic
Printable version Printable version

Forum Jump
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot create polls in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum

Bulletin Board Software by Web Wiz Forums version 8.06
Copyright ©2001-2006 Web Wiz Guide

This page was generated in 1.578 seconds.